5820 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA, 50266 
515-267-2801
American-Chinese

Business Hours:
Open 7 Days A Week
11:00am-9:00pm
Restaurant Location
Small city, town, or suburb
Major city
Number of Employees
100+
Number of Seats
101+
Average Price
$5.99-$7.99
Cuisine
American-Chinese
Offers
Dine-in
Takeout
Delivery
Parking
Public Parking Lot

Ratings 14 people have voted

Awards and Honors

59AVG:(4.2)
61AVG:(4.4)
59AVG:(4.2)
61AVG:(4.4)
For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top 100 Local Favorite  (2012)
Top 100 Overall Excellence  (2011)
Top 100 Healthy Menus  (2010)
Healthy Menu Awards  (2009)
Top100 Overall Excellence  (2008)
Top100 Healthy Menus  (2008)
Top100 Nutrition Friendly Menus  (2007)
Top100 Metro Favorites in 10 Cities  (2007)
Top100 Take-Outs  (2007)
Top100 Overall Excellence  (2006)
Top100 Overall Excellence  (2005)
Top100 Overall Excellence  (2004)

Comments(31)   

Reviewed by: berzhuzhad on: 2013-02-11
I feel bad for you jmmetzger. As far as world class cuisine or authentic Chinese food goes, Hy-vee doen't top the experience, but when it comes to quick, tasty USA style Chinese food, it's pretty hard to beat. Everything is fresh, the people are usually helpful, and it's quite an economical choice. That seems to be true even in the less economically saturated parts of town. The other reviewers are right, their sesame chicken is pretty darn good, the crab rangoon is better than most Chinese restaurants and I haven't had a thing I didn't like. I hope you'll try a different location and see what they have to offer.
Reviewed by: berzhuzhad on: 2013-02-11
I feel bad for you jmmetzger. As far as world class cuisine or authentic Chinese food goes, Hy-vee doen't top the experience, but when it comes to quick, tasty USA style Chinese food, it's pretty hard to beat. Everything is fresh, the people are usually helpful, and it's quite an economical choice. That seems to be true even in the less economically saturated parts of town. The other reviewers are right, their sesame chicken is pretty darn good, the crab rangoon is better than most Chinese restaurants and I haven't had a thing I didn't like. I hope you'll try a different location and see what they have to offer.
Reviewed by: jmmetzger on: 2012-03-21
Seeing this "Award" is on the front page of your "Special Event Ad" (Even More Game Day Favorites), which expires on 03/31/12, was so shocking, I had to find out more. Why? Because the Chinese Express at the Muscatine location certainly does NOT deserve to be in the TOP 100! More like the BOTTOM 100! GROSS! I stopped buying Chinese take-out there long ago, since eating this stuff was required quite an imagination to be considered Chinese cuisine, plus it was a guaranteed stomach ache. A good example would be their so-called sweet & sour chicken. It is served with the usual lightly breaded, fried chicken pieces, but the only "sweet & sour sauce" was a tiny plastic condiment container, with approximately 40ml of COLD, THIN sauce! Anyone who has ever eaten this common dish knows the sause is thick, warm, and normally has other things mixed in like: carrots, peas, pineapple, etc. This tiny dab of sause was intended to be adequate to cover the chicken and rice??!!! UNBELIEVABLE!!!!! Hy-Vee got an award --- FOR THIS???!!! By the way, you might want to check out the comment at the top of the list dated 2011-12-29. Oddly enough, the other comments are actually positive! Does this mean they aren't using the same recipes at the Chinese Express at the Muscatine, Iowa Hy-Vee?
Reviewed by: cockinmymouth on: 2011-12-29
this is bullshit
Reviewed by: mrcreaso on: 2010-10-15
Always fresh and hot, we never have to worry about getting old or cold food at Hy-Vee Chinese Express.
Reviewed by: ryceskate on: 2010-10-15
You wouldn't expect a grocery store like Hy-Vee to have great Chinese food, but wow! I've had a lot of Chinese food in my day, and Hy-vee delivers quality. They have prompt service, helpful employees, and most of all delicious food. They always meet my needs if I want a special order. I've had them cater before and they never disappoint me. I would recommend trying them out. It's always fresh, and they will cook how you want them to. Kudos to the Hy-Vee Chinese and their company!
Reviewed by: supn7 on: 2010-10-15
Great food and quality! The service is excellent and helpful. I would recommend their food to anyone who enjoys oriental cuisine. It is the best Chinese in our town, in my humble opinion.
Reviewed by: 1612PORT on: 2010-10-15
SESAME CHICKEN THE BEST. i HAD IT AT THE mANKATO HILLTOP LOCATION
Reviewed by: einspect6 on: 2010-10-15
Anytime that I will be home late I just stop and pick up a sesame chicken to go. They always hit the spot!
Reviewed by: lilmiztheo on: 2010-10-15
Always fresh, hot and delicious..... Victor and his crew are awesome cooks with friendly and prompt service every day.
Reviewed by: CHERYL on: 2010-10-15
HAD ALL YOU CAN EAT TODAY AWESOME! RAYMOND AND HIS CREW GO ABOVE AND BEYOUND!WE LOVE CHINESE AND HE BEATS THE OTHER TWO RESTAURANTS IN TOWN HANDS DOWN!
Reviewed by: ljrodgers on: 2010-10-14
HV Chinese is the best tasting Chinese I have ever had! They don't use MSG (which is an extra bonus to my family because my husband is allergic and is hard to find chinese food that doesn't use MSG) and my Hy-Vee's Dietitian has included the nutrition inforation to help me make healthier choices!
Reviewed by: crcros54 on: 2010-10-14
Love that they will make whatever I ask for fresh!
Reviewed by: hawkia50311 on: 2010-10-14
Friendly, fast, fantastic! Now if they would just deliver!
Reviewed by: jeff_stevens87 on: 2010-10-14
The great chinese food I get from any Hy-Vee is a testament to the training that is done throughout the company. Excellent food, always!
Reviewed by: hrsmn94 on: 2010-10-14
Nothing like the all you can eat chinese for 6.99 I get everything and anything. Always terrific and very wonderful employees.
Reviewed by: narber4 on: 2010-10-14
I love the fact that what ever I ask for, they will make it! My 3 year old loves the fried rice and my 10 year old want's seasame chicken for every meal. Number 1 in our book!!
Reviewed by: person on: 2010-10-14
Hy-vee Chinese is awesome! Always hot, not dry, and nice and saucy! Good stuff!
Reviewed by: rarepearl2 on: 2010-10-14
When getting food from the Hy-Vee Chinese Restaurant it is always clean and neat. The food is excellent. I've tried just about everything on the menu and it all taste terrific.
Reviewed by: jhannibal on: 2010-10-14
Great taste, great service,and great value
Reviewed by: doghouse on: 2010-10-14
Hy-Vee has the best Chinese I have ever had. Regardless of where where I stop for lunch or dinner the food is excellent. Best crab rangoon anywhere. JJ
Reviewed by: andrew.valasek on: 2010-10-14
There has not been one time when I have visited a Hy-Vee chinese where I have not enjoyed the food or the selection. Hy-Vee has the best chinese food that I know of.
Reviewed by: mycraigslist on: 2010-10-14
Hy-Vee Chinese is the best because it is fresh and always very clean! I feel like you get more bang for your buck at Hy-Vee.
Reviewed by: Heidismommy1 on: 2010-10-14
I love the food!! My kids love to come to Hyvee for dinner! Egg drop soup is the best!
Reviewed by: markpamparker on: 2010-10-14
I love Hy-Vee Chinse because it is always fresh and the employees are friendly. I also enjoy that they will make any dish for you right on the spot.
Reviewed by: matinadee on: 2010-10-14
Hy-Vee Chinese food is some of the best. I prefer to purchase my hot and sour soup and egg drop soup, crab rangoon, and noodle bowls from Hy-Vee than anywhere else! I it CONSISTENTLY good! I have heard comments from others (people I don't even know) about how surprised they were at the quality, taste, and value of the Hy-Vee Chinese cuisine.
Reviewed by: hyvee customer on: 2010-10-14
they have the best sesame chicken that I have had at any chinese restaurant
Reviewed by: sundellangus  on: 2010-10-14
The food is not as good as once was. I think changes were made on the chicken. I tried it 3 times and that was my last.
Reviewed by: Scott Sherwood on: 2010-10-14
The food is always fresh and hot. The staff is wonderful and always willing to help if I want a special order. Love the black pepper chicken.
Reviewed by: lkw on: 2010-10-14
I love that the food is always fresh and hot. It make it easy to pickup on the way home so I do not have to cook. They are always so friendly and helpful. Thanks!
Reviewed by: jpagha on: 2007-08-28
I have always been a fan of Crab Rangoon - and HyVee's are the best I've had anywhere! I'm from the midwest (Missouri) and would like to see the Crab Rangoon travel to the west coast. I can't seem to find them in the S.F.Bay area.

Hy-Vee Inc.

Top 100 Local Favorite